Here’s Looking at You, Kid

It is total crap that movies cost $13 a pop. There, I said it, and I stand by it. I really enjoy going to the movies, but it’s just too expensive. They wonder why people wait for it to come on video. We can get it from Netflix, or Redbox for a buck or less. However, some movies you just have to see on the big screen. This is where Matinees come in.

Let me start off by saying: yes, I know no one likes to wake up early. I am one of those “no ones”. If it’s my day off after working for five days on my feet, yeah, I don’t want to get up at the crack of dawn to watch some millionaires run around in costumes. Alas, I do it anyway.

A matinee movie costs roughly $6. That is less than half the price of a regular ticket, and all I have to do is pick a show that is before noon. It’s a tradeoff I can live with. Think of all the other possibilities I could use that extra money on! About three Metro rides, or shampoo and conditioner (if they’re on sale), or a kid’s meal, or even some stamps. The choices are endless!

Truth be told, I always spend it on pretzels and cheese at the concession stand. That, and a bottle of water or soda. I can’t help it. They are so good, it would be a sin if I didn’t get an order. If I could drown in a liquid food it would be Nacho Cheese. Sometimes I have to get two cheese cartons because one is just not enough. I feel like I earned it after waking up at the same time everyone else in New York is sleeping off a hangover. It just seems fair.

There are always movie nights with friends where price isn’t what’s important, but if you are a solo movie goer, or if the movie is iffy, then I say “Go to the Pictures for cheap!” And saying “I’m going to a Matinee,” just sounds damn classy as all hell.

*The picture of pretzels and cheese won by popular demand over the picture of an actual theater.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. stacy o'neal says:

    very nice, the sense of humor is funny, and appreciated by the reader…Doing a great job of writing….Keep it up….

  2. Maria says:

    I must say you are right about the movies being to expensive. What the hell is Hollywood thinking about. We all just don’t have that much money laying around these days. And I agree with you about the food best ever. Let your voice be heard “Im mad as hell, and I’m not paying full price for a movie ticket anymore”. Just with more gusto then I think people will see how pissed off you are.

  3. Paul says:

    HAHA my sister always one to get a pretzel and cheeze

  4. pj says:

    Yah, I agree. Great analogy! I do love the movies, but the cost makes me wait till it comes out on video. But, I do miss the pretzel & cheese!!!

Leave a Reply

