What I Am Working On

Well, to start with, about a year ago I finished a novel. It took about two years to write, and it’s probably going to take just as long to rewrite it. I consider it a YA, which is mainly what I read so it’s not that big of a jump. The idea for the story came to me one day when I was at work staring at one of the designs of a collection of merchandise we had. I immediately ran down to the basement to jot it down before I forgot it. The only details I want to give away right now are that it is a twenty-first century love story with a bit of fantasy and violence tossed in there.

Over the course of two years, I wrote pieces here and there, filling up a notebook or two. However, when the store I worked at closed, I made it a point to sit at my computer every morning and write until I couldn’t write any more. I made it my job for three whole weeks until I had to get a job that would pay me money, and it paid off. I am proud of it, and I know it will only become better after the rewrites.

I have been working on a second novel since I completed the first. This particular one I have been working on for years, at least since I was sixteen, (which is becoming further and further away). I kept restarting it over and over again for some reason. The feeling of finishing one body of work kicked my ass into going full force with the second one. I am still in stage one of this story, so it will be a while, but I really like how it is turning out this time around. This one deals more with real life situations and adventures, no fantasy is involved. First and foremost, I must like the things that I write, and this I absolutely love.

On the lighter side of things, I have written two short stories that I sent off, and am working on a third. I don’t know if anything will happen with them, but like I said before, if I never try I will never know. I am also working on a Serial Fiction blog so I can have something for all of you to read. So far I have two parts written, and am going to drink a crap load of coffee on Sunday to get a move on it!

The types of stories I like to write are dark, violent, and (hopefully) creative. And, of course, there is always love. It’s just sometimes getting to that love is more difficult than not. I like to read strange, odd things that are meshed in with real life, so I try and write about it too. I like to add details that bring the characters to life; like how a boy wipes his nose on his sleeve, or a woman tripping in her heels. I concentrate on the lives of young people, usually, dealing with things, or just learning how to live their lives along the odyssey. Nothing I have written, aside from a few essays, has been published. I am kind of a freak when it comes to my writing. I want it to be as good as I can get it before I send it out. In any case, you all will find out soon what kind of stories I write.

Here’s to coffee!

One Comment Add yours

  1. pj says:

    I really liked reading this blog. It gave me a good feeling about your future writings. You seem very focused & dedicated. Good Luck!

Leave a Reply

