Tags

My friend Rachel Bailey*, who we will just call RB, finally kicked off her Classics book club last month, and I’m happy to say I am a member.

RB posted on Facebook to see if anyone was interested, and it turns out people were, so last month we had our first official meeting. A book club is the best thing to be a part of if you’re a bookworm. You get to be in a room with people who love books just as much as you do, and talk about it for about two hours. Well, almost two hours. I’ll get to the rules later.

Now, I had decided at the beginning of the year that since this may be the end of the world I should make it a point to read all the classical literature I possibly could. I was doing okay on my own with Call of the Wild, Flatland, and A Tale of Two Cities. However, I could have been doing better, so it was kind of perfect of RB to suggest the club.

First order of business was to determine the rules. Things ranged from giving a dollar if you’re late, (something I was very against), to who should bring what snacks. The gist of the rules we settled on were:
1. We really want you to be there, but if you really can’t, we understand.
2. The person who picked the book starts the discussion and controls it.
3. You are welcome, of course, to come even if you didn’t finish or get to read the book.
4. Yes! Snacks!
5. 15 minutes in the beginning for business, 1 ½ of discussing the book, then 30 minutes of gossip.
RB did her research!

The other important thing we had to determine was what we considered a “classic” book. We decided it had to be over ten years old, (so lasting ability), and obviously praised because we don’t want to read crap.

The first book we picked was The Master and Margarita by Mikhail Bolgakov. A book I suggested, which means I get to lead the discussion. The book itself is split into two parts. The first follows a series of events that happen in Moscow involving a man-sized black cat, a man with a large fang, a checked suit interpreter, and Morning Star himself. Each of the men who come across the gang ends up going to a mental hospital. While there, we see that one of these men is introduced to another patient who calls himself master. Master has gone insane after his book was rejected and left the world, and his mistress behind. The second book follows his mistress, who we know is Margarita from the title of the book, on her journey to find her man. It’s humorous, and very intriguing. I can’t wait to see what everyone else thinks of it.

If you’re interested in the idea of a book club, and love TV, both RB and I recommended to the club a show called The Book Group. It lasted two seasons and is available on Hulu. It stars Rory McCann, who now plays the Hound on Game of Thrones, and Anne Dubek, who played Dr. Amber Volakis on House. It’s hilarious, staying in the same vein as Parks and Recreation and The Office, but in Scotland.

A book club is a great way to keep yourself reading, and have some hang out time with your friends. Or if you don’t know anyone, to meet new friends. I had a great time seeing the people I know, and meeting some new ones! Bookworms unite!

*Name changed for her splendid privacy.

