Waves of Entertainment

My brain is so black and white sometimes. There are two forms of entertainment I use on my travels around New York, and they are reading and listening to music. However, my brain can’t do both at the same time.

Let me be clearer….. I do listen to music on my way to the train and back, but for months I will only want to read on the train. I can get through a decent amount of books during that time, and all is well and pleasant. Those are the times when I get the most writing done, and am genuinely more productive.

Every once in a while, my wave of interest will diminish. It could be caused by reading a boring or bad book, lack of sleep, or just being too overwhelmed with choices of books to read. In those times, I really get into music. Everywhere I go, I’ve got my headphones on. I don’t listen to the radio, or really go looking for new music, so I end up listening to the same stuff over and over with no desire to read. As much as I enjoy music, it stops my creative flow, which is a problem.

Here, my small audience of people who comment, is where I ask for suggestions to get back into reading more quickly. It always comes back eventually, but speedy tips are welcome.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. pj says:

    I suggest reading when you’re refreshed & it’s a good book. Listening to music when you tired. After a long at day at work. The music will relax you enough to enjoy a good book when you get home.

  2. The Girl in the Tiny Hat says:

    The way I get out of a reading funk is putting aside all the books I feel that I should be reading and picking up a book I haven’t been able to stop thinking about. It gets me back in the mood for reading. =D Is there a book you have and can’t wait to start but have put aside because you feel you have to read others?

  3. Maria says:

    Read something out side your comfort zone girl. It helps to read stuff that’s out of your norm it gets you focused on what you really want to read after your done. I listen to music when I read sometimes I turn it into my background music of what ever scene I am seeing in my mind’s eye when I read. Hope that helps you a little girl. Keep moving forward…

Leave a Reply

