Sidney at New York Comic Con

The story of one nerd in New York City.

Unfortunately, I had to work the morning shift the day of my ticket, but I was off by 3:30. Having small legs as I do, I wanted to waste no more time, so I took a taxi from work. After stopping around 5 of them, and getting no less than $30.00 for a ride (which is effing ridiculous for a cross town ride), I accepted the fact that I was going to get ripped off.

Now, Javits Center…. I love you, I really do….. But if you’re going to have thousands of hardcore nerds in one area, you need to get some gosh darn (not going to use the strong language this deserves) RECEPTION!!!!! Trying to find reception was like looking all over the ocean for Atlantis. It took me half an hour to find my three friends, come on.

At least once we found each other, we had a good time. First we checked out the lower level to see which panels were going to be going on, then we headed to Artist Alley where we saw some impressive Nightwing art. I went to NYCC two years ago, and I have to say I was very impressed this year by all the artist. It ranged from detective style to anime. Something for everyone.

After Artist Alley, we walked the show room floor until it was time to get in line for Nickelodeon’s Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles panel. We got in line about 45 minutes before it started, and it turned out to be a good idea since we snagged good seats. I haven’t been watching the new show, but one of my friends was into it. The other two were laughing their asses off.

It had the cast: Beast Boy from “Teen Titans”, Pinky from “Pinky and the Brain”, the fat hobbit, and the kid who has sex with pies. I am not going to use their real names. If you’re a nerd, then you know who I am talking about. We got to see some character designs, and clips from upcoming episodes. I didn’t think I was going to be interested because it’s in CG, which wouldn’t be such a problem if they didn’t use it to make them look so goofy, but after watching the panel I have to admit it’s peaked my interest. It ended with Vanilla Ice’s turtle song, as everything should always end.

Leaving CC for the night, we headed over to the IGN party. Free drinks and tee-shirts for everyone! (Over 21.)

It was awesome, despite the fact that I had to work and I only got to go for one day. At least it wasn’t that busy on Friday!

Turtle Power!

One Comment Add yours

  1. pj says:

    Sounds fun & entertaining, during & after.

Leave a Reply

