The holiday season was a tiring one. I’ve already told you all that I work retail, so you know I’m not joking.

So I work in a heavily tourist area, which is bad enough as it is. However, the moment Hurricane Sandy hit and everyone from 39th street down lost power, we were slammed. We reopened on Halloween (two days after) with like five people, (I had to take a taxi), and we sold books and booklights like crazy to everyone who didn’t have power. From then on it was non-stop.

We hired all our extra people, filled up all the tills, gave all the discounts and coupons a customer could ask for, and extended our hours. Extended hours meant long shifts with late nights and very early mornings. It makes me happy to see people buying books at 7:30 in the morning, but come on, a girl’s got to sleep.

All in all the season wasn’t as terrible as it could have been, but I am still recovering from the lack of sleep and crazy running around. I hope you will forgive me for being lazy about my post for the last couple of weeks. 🙂

Mama needs a nap.

Image

