10 Books I Can’t Wait to Read this Year!

This year is getting off to a slow start in the reading department, (still trying to finish ‘A Feast for Crows’), but there are some books I’m so excited to read! And guess what?! I’m going to tell you about them!

Some are old, some are very old, and some aren’t even out yet. Let’s start with the ones releasing this year.

1. ‘Confederates Don’t Wear Couture’ by Stephanie Kate Strohm.

– Some of you may remember I recommended her first book, ‘Pilgrims Don’t Wear Pink’, to you all a little while back, (I’ll leave a couple links at the bottom). Well, this is the second tale of Libby as she heads down south to help her best friend sell Civil War gowns to  reenactors. But it won’t all be sweet tea and hush puppies.

Image

2. ‘Scarlet’ by Marissa Meyer.

– I am hoping the second book in the ‘Lunar Chronicles’ will be just as exciting and interesting as the first one, ‘Cinder’. The first book follows the life of a girl who is half cyborg, (something that is looked down upon), in the futuristic New Beijing. It’s a new twist in the story of Cinderella. This one will of course have Cinder in it, but we are introduced to Scarlet (Little Red Ridinghood), who’s grandmother is in danger, and the street fighter, Wolf, may have some information on how to help.

Image

3. ‘Clockwork Princess’ by Cassandra Clare.

– I am sooooo excited for the third book in the ‘Infernal Devices’ series! She left the last one, ‘Clockwork Prince’, on such a cliffhanger! Okay, calming down. So Tessa Gray was kidnapped when she arrived in London by two “women” who got her to unlock her power. She was rescued by a couple of shadowhunters, and brought into their world. I don’t want to say much more, mainly because I don’t want to spoil anything because I get too excited. Check out the first two books before this one comes out!

Image

Alright, that’s all for books yet to be released. Now on to the oldy-but-goody books. I’ll be less wordy about these ones.

4. ‘A Wizard of Earthsea’ by Ursula K. Le Guin

– What can I really say about this one? It’s beyond a classic. More a legend……..haha. It’s about a wizard who is tested in many ways, who can hopefully restore balance to Earthsea along his journey.

Image

5. ‘Dance of Dragons’ by George R.R. Martin

– I don’t have to say anything about this.

Image

6. ‘The Search for WondLa’ by Tony Diterlizzi

– I’ll admit it was the cover that sucked me in, but after reading the flap, I was intrigued. Eva lives underground. All alone. Until a huntsman destroys her home and sends her running for dear life. She wants to find someone like her, but all she has is a photograph of a girl, a robot, an adult, and the word “WondLa”.

Image

7. ‘Looking for Alaska’ by John Green.

– This will be my first John Green novel. Miles “Pudge” Halter’s boring life changes when he heads off to a boarding school and meets Alaska. She sucks him into her crazy world, and grabs ahold of his heart.

Image

8. ‘The Big Over Easy’ by Jasper Fforde

– I mean, come on…. it has an egg drinking liquor on the cover. That tells you all you need to know about this book.

Image

9. ‘The Lovely Bones’ by Alice Sebold

– I promise I will actually read it this year. I promise. Sussie is only 14 when she is murdered in 1973. You see her as she adjust to heaven while still watching her grief-stricken family come apart.

Image

10. ‘Dying of the Light’ by George R.R. Martin.

– By George R.R. Martin.

Image

They’re definitely some good ones! I’ll keep you all posted on if I succeed in read them. LONG LIVE BOOKS!

https://sidneymcentyre.wordpress.com/2012/08/17/books-i-recommend-1/ –> My recommendation.

http://girlinthetinyhat.blogspot.com/2012/05/author-interview-stephanie-kate-strohm.html –> Interview with the author.

http://girlinthetinyhat.blogspot.com/2012/05/pilgirms-dont-wear-pink-stephanie-kate.html  -> Book review.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. pj says:

    Wow! You’re headed into a world of adventure. You’d make a great book reviewer or should I say critic. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

