Whether published by a publishing house or self-published, it is no small task to complete a full book. I am lucky enough to know a few people who have done the work and have something to show for it. This post is about people I know who have published their work. They have done something I hope to do some day.

I am going to list them in the order I read them in, except the last one which was just released. Each of the four books are in different categories, so I hope everyone can find something they like.

“3 Dozen” – Joann Frank

The first book is an Art book by my lovely artist friend, Joann Frank. It was published in 1977, and is a series of photograms centered on eggs. The images are beautiful, and unique to say the least. The eggs are artfully depicted with things ranging from light bulbs to razor blades.

http://www.joannfrank.com/index.php?/

Image

“The Falling Rainbow” – Jing Suh

Synopsis:  A promising love that is quickly shattered poisons Samantha’s heart and introduces a confusion that causes her to believe the unimaginable. A disorganized group of untamed Glorious Hunters are seeking a girl named Symphony who has made a lonely home in the desert in her attempt to hide away from them. While an old Native-American rain dancer is meditating amongst Angel Trees, and a friendly girl of unnatural blood named April Red is sliding small knives into her long black boots, and Sovereign Ashley is leading his 4th Manes in a search for a legendary book, and a priest is contemplating his last disturbing visitor, and the Scholars of Triumph are rewriting the future, a sudden snow falls in a holy garden where a rainbow descends to darkness.

This one is definitely for all you dark, mystical readers. If you love to read about fallen angels, girls on the run, and magical powers, then this is the book for you.  I feel like it fits well into the anime/manga loving crowd. The dark, spiritual vibes led me to picture each of the characters in anime form, like they had just walked out of ‘Cowboy Bebop’ or ‘Trigun’.

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/the-falling-rainbow-jing-suh/1009074966?ean=9781434316868

Image

“Pilgrims Don’t Wear Pink”/ “Confederates Don’t Wear Couture” – Stephanie Kate Strohm

Synopsis (Confederates Don’t Wear Couture): When history nerd Libby’s fashion designer best friend asks for help selling his gowns to the wives of Civil War reenactors, she jumps at the chance to frolick on a nineteenth-century playground. But Alabama’s no sweet home: sweltering heat, no Starbucks, a vengeful ghost . . . And the boys? Miss Libby’s got the North and the South fighting for her heart.

So you all have heard me talk about how awesome “Pilgrims Don’t Wear Pink” is for the last year, so here it is again!

I gave the synopsis for the second book in the series because it is coming out very soon, so mark your calendars. These books are great for the girlie-girls, the funny girls, the fashion crazy girls, the awkward girls, and not just girls. Every guy should pick up a copy too, see what all the jazz is about. They are truly hilarious and fun to read.

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/confederates-dont-wear-couture-stephanie-kate-strohm/1112182046?ean=9780547972589

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/pilgrims-dont-wear-pink-stephanie-kate-strohm/1029928723?ean=9780547564593

ImageImage

“Loving Marcus” – Victoria Kante

Synopsis: Brelynn’s life seems to be going in the right direction. She has a caring, loving man in her life, an over-protective sister who raised her, and a job in New York City that she loves. When a diagnosis of Leukemia falls into her lap, her world begins to crumble and the people around her alternately support and desert her. She must find the strength within herself to make difficult decisions and search in new places for the help she needs. A love story that captures the beauty of life from an unexpected birth and death; it finds the characters caught in situations that force them to reach deep inside to find their true selves. In the middle of her fight to live, Brelynn must make a difficult choice, to live or to give life.

I have not read “Loving Marcus” yet, as I am waiting for my copy to arrive. However, from what I have gathered from what I know, and what I have heard from people who have read it so far, it seems to be in the same vein with Jodi Picoult. I’m not certain about this since I have yet to read it, so don’t quote me, but do check it out.

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/loving-marcus-victoria-m-kante/1115249865?ean=9781484063019

Image

I count my lucky stars when I think about all the wonderfully talented people I know! Please check them out and find out how wonderful they are for yourself!

Sidney out! (Drops the mic)

