MexiCali Food!

It’s been a long time since I last posted about food. I believe my last food post was about my Superbowl snack play, so February. Crazy! (cause I love food so much).

Mexicali3

As most of you know from my previous post, I originate from southern California, where the Mexican food runs rampant! The tortillas are hot, the chiles are hotter, and the horchata is ice cold. Just the way we like it!

I love New York, but there are a few things I definitely miss about California. One is the eternal warm weather, the other is good Mexican food. I ask for a horchata in a New York Mexican restaurant and they look at me like I’m insane. What are you gunna do?

Long story short, I am going to share with you two of my favorite Mexican dishes the way my family makes them. They are really simple, and taste amazing!

Enchilada Casserole

Ingredients:

  • La Victoria Red Enchilada Sauce (1 can)
  • Granola Oil
  • Grated Cheese (I use cheddar, but you are well to use any kind you want)
  • Half an onion, diced
  • Slice black olives (small can should work)
  • Shredded chicken, pork, beef, or carne asada (optional)

Tools/Before you start:

  • Two 12′ stove top pans
  • Rectangular baking dish (size depends on how much you want to make)
  • Tongs
  • Preheat oven to 400 degrees

Using the tongs, soften tortilla in the hot Vegetable Oil, quickly dip it in the hot Enchilada sauce. Obviously you should use the two front burners on your stove so you can have the pans side-by-side. The take the tortilla could of sauce as soon as it is covered and place it flat in a long baking dish. Add all the ingredients to the center of the tortilla, then fold over each side like a blanket. Continue placing each tortilla next to the previous one, and even stacking on top if you are really hungry.

Once the dish is full, sprinkle remaining ingredients on top and bake for 20 minutes at 400 degrees. All that’s left is to take it out and eat it with sour cream!

Image

Chile Rellenos

Ingredients:

  • 1 can of peeled Green Chiles
  • Grated Cheese (again, I use mainly cheddar, but you can use Mexican Blend or Pepper Jack)
  • 6 Eggs
  • Dash of Milk
  • Black Pepper

Tools/Before You Start:

  • Baking Dish
  • Mixing Bowl
  • Wisk
  • Preheat Oven to 375 degrees

Take the chiles out of the can and remove the stem. Slice each chile down the center and remove the seeds. Place the chiles side-by-side in the baking dish. Stuff them with the grated cheese and close the opening. Make only a single layer of the chiles.

Mix the eggs, milk, and pepper together then pour it over the chiles. Place dish in the oven at 375 degrees for 45 minutes. After the 45 minutes is up, take the dish out of the oven and stick a tooth pick in it. You want to make sure the egg is cooked all the way, so check the toothpick for anything runny. Throw it back in if it comes up runny for another 10 minutes. If not, eat it.

 Image(borrowed pix)

I hope everyone gets a chance to try them out this summer!

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Eileen Montalvo says:

    very good sidney                       AKA DOGBONE

    ________________________________

  2. pj says:

    Oh my God! I am so hungry right now. I could eat those pictures. I love Mexican food. Maybe you should open a Mexican restaurant in NY. I bet it would be a big hit. Thanks for the recipes. I’m going to try them. They sound quick & easy. My kind of cooking.

Leave a Reply

