Cheap Talk

I may have mentioned before that I don’t really like used things. I feel like people’s skin flakes get all over whatever the item is, and people sneezing on their stuff. Gross, I know. However, I have recently been enlightened, and my new obsession is bargain stores. Books, TV shows, and movies for as little as a dollar?! I’m so there.

I went to have a long awaited lunch at a friend’s house in Astoria (Queens) a couple of weeks ago, and once we finished the three course meal her husband cooked and baked for us, (who will one day get an entire post dedicated to his cooking), she took me to a store named “CEX”.  Apparently CEX is a chain store, who knew? Sometimes I feel like I live under a rock. For those of you who, like me pre-rock, have never heard of CEX, it is a store that sells video games, DVDs, and Blu-rays for crazy cheap. Not just the old stuff, either. They had some really new stuff! Listen to this (or read it), I bought “The Amazing Spider-man”, “Snow White and the Huntsman”, and “The Last Samurai” (do not judge my taste in movies) for $15. Needless to say, this lit a fire in my soul for cheap goods that simply could not be extinguished.

I had heard the whispers and rumors about a another bargain shop on 45th between 5th and 6th; they called this one “Book-Off”. The awesome thing about Book-Off is they have all of your TV needs, and expand into books (ah-duh). And here I’m talking books as low as a dollar. It has now become my thing. Any little bit of time I’ve had in the past week had been spent combing through the shelves for some hidden treasures. I have yet to explore all of the sections, but I did find four book…that I bought for $4!!!! It’s pretty much spectacular. I kind of can’t say no to a book that I’m on the fence about if it’s only a dollar. It’s a blessing, not a curse.

Lastly, I finished my week with a more popular bargain store: The Strand. Once I had a taste for the cheap books, it was only a matter of time before I ended up at the Union Square location. There are countless used books stores all over New York City, however I find that the books are usually in better condition at The Strand. Since I already have a problem with used things, it makes it a little easier when they look brand new. You do what you have to do for the sake of a damn good bargain. I paid $15 (the magic number of the week) for “The Savage Detectives” and “The Kite Runner”. Brilliant, I tell you!

I’ll leave a list of these locations at the book so you all can check out the awesomeness of cheap!

The one set back to getting a bunch of new books and movies on the cheap: I’m out of shelf space.

used books2

CEX- 422 East 14th Street New York, NY 10009  /  30-60 Steinway Street Astoria, Queens, NY  11103

Book- Off – 49 West 45th St. New York, NY 10036 USA

The Strand Union Square – 828 Broadway, New York, NY 10003

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Stacy says:

    Why to go Sidney…. Bargains are my favorite, I certainly love a bargain…sounds like u found some great deals…. Good for u…good luck on your journey to find more bargains….

  2. pj says:

    I can’t pass up a bargain. Whether it be food, clothes, books or dvds. I love bargain prices. Next time I’m in town, I’ll have to check these stores out. Thanks for the bargain info.

Leave a Reply

