Good evening (Vincent Price voice)….(or Homer Simpson’s).

Want to stay up all night and read creepy, crawly, sometimes make you want to vomit they are so gross books? Get ready to sleep with a nightlight and hide under your covers, here are five recommendations I have for Halloween reading.

I am only going to suggest one classic story. Although, if you haven’t read ‘Frankenstein’, ‘Dracula’, or ‘The Legend of Sleepy Hollow’, I think you should do so.

1. ‘The Mysterious Stranger’ by Mark Twain

-The first time I came across this story was in a clay-mation short film for children. I watched it as an adult and it still scared the crap out of me.

The story was the last attempted novel by Twain and was of course different from the animated version I have seen. It follows the young life of Satan, the nephew of the original Satan from the bible. It abruptly ends, but has a very creepy vibe. This is a good one for a short read.

the_mysterious_stranger_by_felipegsilva-d53qq7v

2. ‘Anna Dressed In Blood’ by Kendare Blake

-Love this book! I did an Author Love post about Kendare Blake right after reading it. I literally couldn’t read it before I went to bed.

It follows a young man, Cas, who hunts and kills the dead. Immediately after getting a tip on an extremely violent ghost named Anna, Cas finds himself in her Canadian hometown. Will he kill her before she kills again….or does his strange connection with her change his mind?

anna

3. ‘I Hunt Killers’ by Barry Lyga

-So this book is so creepy and disgusting at times I had to stop reading it on the train because I thought I was going to throw up. There are definitely some graphic scenes in this one.

Jazz is the son of a world famous killer. To make matters worse, his father use to bring him to work before he was caught. Now murders are happening in his town and he must prove to the cops, and himself, that he didn’t inherit the murder gene, so he attempts to help the police find the murder by thinking like a criminal.

killers

4. ‘The Replacement’ by Brenna Yovanoff

-This is one of the less creepy “want to hide under my bed” books, but it has a great deal of spooky elements.

If I remember correctly, it is a play off of an old Swedish folk tale about babies being taken and replaced by sickly creatures who were deathly allergic to iron, which is why parents would place pieces of iron above the cribs. This worked in two ways: one, keeping the baby thieves at bay; or two, if they succeeded in taking the baby, the replaced creature would die from being exposed to iron. Mackie is the one creature that did not die after replacing a human baby. He is now sixteen and struggling to fit in, but a missing girl brings him back to the world he came from.

change

5. ‘The Space Between’ by Brenna Yovanoff

-I love, love, love this book. It is one of my favorite books.

Daphne, the daughter of the devil, propels herself into an odyssey to find her missing older brother, Obie. She enlists the help of the last person person who saw him, a human boy Obie saved after a suicide attempt.  Their adventure leads them to terrifying discoveries that could prove fatal. There are a few gruesome scenes, but nothing you need to pass up.

between

Happy Reading on All Hallows Eve little goblins and ghouls!

