..I have absolutely no idea.

Sanitary, sure. I vacuum, wash dishes, dust, and scrub to my little heart’s content. But for some damn reason….I constantly have little mountains of books all over my apartment. “Clutter”, (although a correct term, is much too harsh of a word for my precious tomes), seems to be the culprit.

Normally this would not bother me, however my apartment has welcomed two new individuals into the mix and I have been trying to make extra space for them. I packed and condensed as much as I could, but all of the sudden I am noticing my piles of books strewn throughout the apartment as they wait to find a home on my bookshelves. I’m sure lots of people have this problem, right? Right?!

The reason I don’t just throw them on a shelf is my bookcases are set up in a specific order: series, genres, age group, and by author’s last name. Trust me, it makes them easier to find should you need to lend or re-read. When I get a new book…or in my case, five or six at a time, I have to do a bunch of shifting on my shelves and laziness wins that battle 90% of the time. Not to mention I run the risk of forgetting which book I wanted to read next. What’s a girl to do?

Right now I can count three stacks from where I am sitting. Four, if you count the stack on my bookshelf that hasn’t been properly filed. A bit much for someone who has the shelf space available. I mean, I have three more stacks in my room, including one that is on my bed right next to my pillow. Should they ever fall…………well, is there any finer way to die?

How does a person keep a clean, clutter-free home if they must be surrounded by books? This is my question. Alas, I guess it leaves two options: get off my lazy ass and put away my books just in case a roomie needs more space for whatever…….or leave them out, because there is no better way to occupy empty space than with a book, no matter how cluttered ones house appears. I chose the latter.

The key to keeping a clean house is to have a boring home with no stories to tell.

Image

