The Book Con 2014!

That’s right, I went…jealous???

For those poor souls who weren’t lucky enough to be invited to BEA or get a ticket to The Book Con, here’s what I witnessed. Side note: I stress the importance of the “The” because BookCon.com will not bring you to the correct website. I learned that over and over again. Haha.

The day started out with clear blue skies and a late spring breeze. After procuring a chai latte, we, naturally Little Hat and I, enjoyed the scenic route to the Javits Center. Once we got our tickets with John Grishman’s face on it we zig-zagged our way through the showroom floor, checking out the booths and the autograph tables. Unfortunately the tickets for Cassandra Clare and Maggie Stiefvater were long gone by the time we got there, but it was cool to see all the excited fans line up for them.

1

(Entrance to Javits Center)

<Insert rant here>

I understand BEA was going on around The Book Con. BEA being the Book Expo of America, which is more of a private event for librarians, teachers, publishers, authors, and so on and so forth. Basically for people in the business, not us regular Joes. This year they opened it up, but with limitations. I felt sort of ripped off after finding out that The Book Con attendees only got access to a small part of the whole showroom floor, as well as they tried to fit in too much into one day, resulting in all the cool panels taking place at all the same times. Didn’t feel like it was worth the money, even though I enjoyed what I did get to participate in.

<Rant ended>

2

(Showroom Floor)

Since the showroom took no longer than a half hour, our first panel was with female authors Jodi Picoult, Kathy Reichs, and Ruth Reichl. As an aspiring female author, it was intriguing and helpful to hear the stories of how they got started, how they do their research and what it’s like to be a female in the male publishing world. Jodi Picoult had a lot to say about the sometimes unfair assessment of female work. “I don’t write ‘Chick-lit’!” It was both inspiring and deterring at the same time.

5

(Can’t see Reichl, but Picoult and Reich)

Our last panel, because the showroom closed at three, was the Blockbuster panel. I had to make a tough decision between the Deborah Harkness and Lev Grossman panel or the Blockbuster kids panel. The reason I chose the Blockbuster panel was because Lemony Snicket was on it. “A Series of Unfortunate Events” was a big part of my childhood and I was hoping against hope he would sign one of my books. I’m sure I’ll get a chance to see Harkness and Grossman again…right?

4

(Kinney, Riordan, Russell, Patterson, and Snicket)

Along with Mr. Snicket was Rick Riordan, James Patterson, Rachel Renee Russell with moderator Jeff Kinney. I am so happy with my choice! It was a riot! Rachel Russell was as sweet as pie, James Patterson brought in experience, Rick Riordan couldn’t say a word without fans screaming and applauding (including myself in that), and Lemony Snicket……brilliantly hilarious. I fully agreed with James Patterson when he said Lemony needs his own TV show. He was amazing! Sadly, I was not able to get a book signed. Security rushed them off stage too quickly, but I am all the better for experience.

As I have said, it could have been better, but I had fun reguardless. Scored a free mouse pad! Woo!

3 And then this guy!

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Maria says:

    Wonderful…girl great review!!!!!! Loved it, you totally
    nailed it!

  2. pj says:

    Sounds like a fun & eventful experience. They should open BEA to the public so all can enjoy the people involved in the literary world.

Leave a Reply

