Happy First Day of Summer!

Get ready to get your summer reading on. Here are my top ten recommendations for the summer:

1. ‘The Grandmothers’ by Doris Lessing

2. ‘Howl’s Moving Castle’ by Dianna Wynne Jones

3. ‘Pilgrims Don’t Wear Pink’ by Stephanie Kate Strohm

4. ‘Life of Pi’ by Yann Martel

5. ‘City of Bones’ by Cassandra Clare

6. ‘A Natural History of Dragons’ by Marie Brennan

7. ‘The Thirteenth Tale’ by Diane Setterfield

8. ‘The Diviners’ by Libba Bray

9. ‘Pride and Prejudice’ by Jane Austen

10. ‘Wuthering Heights’ by Emily Bronte

There is a little bit for everyone in that list. Enjoy!

summer-reading

 

4 Comments Add yours

  1. pj says:

    Great summer selection. Read On!

  2. JoAnn Frank says:

    Hey Sidney, I read The Diviners as per your suggestion and liked it alot.  I was looking forward to immediately reading the sequel, but it doesn’t come out till 2015.  I saw The Book Thief and think they did a decent job in the film. I also read The Monuments Men which was much better than the film.  There’s a companion book that tells what happened in Italy and Hopefully I’ll be able to read it this summer.   I’ve been packing up my mother’s apt. in Philly because she’s moving to Wilmington, NC to be near my brother.  I’m hoping to get most of it completed this week.  Whatever’s left, the movers can do.  It’s physically exhausting.  

    That’s it for now. Take care, JoAnn

    1. That’s great that you found time to read considering how busy you are. I’m glad you enjoyed “The Diviners”. I can’t wait for the sequel as well!
      I thought the movie for “The Book Thief” was a bit disappointing. The cast was perfect, but it just fell short of my expectations. The book is usually better. I haven’t seen Monuments Men yet, but I want to.
      Thank you for reading, and I hope to see more of your artwork soon!

  3. dogbone says:

    Can’t wait to start reading. Good choices.

Leave a Reply

