The summer was filled with warm sun rays, light breezes, and the occasional booming thunderstorm. Now that autumn is right around the corner, I’d like to share a few of the finer points of my summer.

Kiwi’s Big Adventure

I discovered this iced tea late in the summer and haven’t been able to get enough of it. Kiwi’s Big Adventure is one of David’s Tea’s green collection. It has a light fruity taste (I recommend giving it a little extra steeping time), and is a delicious treat on a hot summer day. I will tell you it has some artificial parts, but because it is so tasty, I am willing to look past that. Add a little sugar, lean back and rehydrate!

photo 3 (2)

The Raven Cycle

Can you say “Obsession”? I can. “The Raven Boys” and “The Dream Thieves” by Maggie Stiefvater follows the lives of four teenage boys and one teenage girl as they search for an old Welsh king in Virginia. Throw in some love drama, psychic and dream powers, and you’ve won Sidney over. Stiefvater took ten years to complete the story and it really shows. The writing is perfectly crafted you feel like you are standing right next to Blue as she watches a lone spirit wander down the Corpse Road. It is honestly killing me waiting for the third in the series to release on October 21st.

photo 2 (2)

Gone Girl

Gillian Flynn brings a new twist to the guilty husband story. Although the story is not very unique, and there really is only one big shocker, Flynn’s characters and writing style more than makes up for it. She really brings each character to life with believable dialogue and true human reactions. I cannot wait to read more of her work, and highly recommend reading “Gone Girl” before seeing the movie.

photo 1 (2)

Finishing My Nerdy Cross Stitches

After taking my sweet time, I have finally finished my “Avatar the Last Airbender” and “Studio Ghibli” cross stitches. Both patterns were found on Etsy.com. They have the best cross stitch patterns! Type in anything and you can find it! Cross stitch is an easy, fun craft that will give you something beautiful to look at.

photo 4 (2)

Make my summer highlights part of your fall highlights! I promise you won’t be disappointed. Summer isn’t over yet……. but once you announce the early arrival of the Pumpkin Spice Latte, it’s all autumn dreaming. Happy reading, drinking, handcrafting!

davidstea.com

etsy.com (Avatar by JuliefooStitches; Ghibli cats by CapesandCrafts)

