Movie Season Fall 2014

Autumn brings about several great changes in the year. Everything becomes pumpkin and/or pumpkin spice, the weather cools down to just the right temperature, and I renew my AMC Stubs card. “What-” you may exclaim “brings all these things together?!” I’ll tell you what: Movies. I can enjoy a pumpkin spice latte or cupcake while I wait for my movie companion. The cool weather helps the sweater I’m wearing for the cold theater make more sense. Here’s the real kicker, though. Every time I go see a movie it adds points to my Stubs card for free money! Free money can be exchanged for goods and services, like pretzels and cheese. Let’s look at some of the movies I’m excited to see.

September has a few I’ve been waiting to see. The first of which is “The Boxtrolls”. Brought to the scene by the same creative minds behind “Coraline” and “ParaNorman”, “The Boxtrolls” follows an orphan named Eggs who is adopted by trolls who dress up in crumpled boxes (based on the book ‘Here Be Monsters!’). If it is anywhere close to how good their other work has been, I’d say we are in for some adorable fun. Two more on the more serious side of September are “The Disappearance of Eleanor Rigby: Them” and “The Two Faces of January”. ‘Rigby’ was originally suppose to be a two films about a crumbling marriage, one from her point of view and one from his. However they have been combined into the very long ‘Them’. With the leads Jessica Chastain and James McAvoy adding to the intensity of the script, I have no doubt it’s worth the sitting time. Speaking of cast, the main draw to ‘Faces’ is Viggo Mortensen, Oscar Isaac, and Kirsten Dunst. The story doesn’t sound ground-breaking, a couple meet a con man in Greece in 1962, but I have faith their performances will be what makes the difference.

October is going to be an interesting month in movies. “Birdman” to start with looks awesomely crazy. Michael Keaton plays a washed up former star who was best known for his role as Birdman the superhero! I cannot wait to see what this dark comedy has in store. October also happens to have the two book-to-film I’ve been waiting for! The “Gone Girl” trailer promises all the right paths are followed from the book. Only time will tell if Nick Dunne killed his wife or not. Now “Horns” I’ve been waiting for forever. I watched a clip over a year ago and have been waiting ever since. Daniel Radcliffe’s character wakes up with horns on his forehead after the death of his girlfriend…. things get a bit wild after that.

November brings us tidings, small, but good. “The Hunger Games: Mockingjay Part 1” is going to tear up Thanksgiving week. I’m also pretty sure I don’t need to tell you what to expect. GO READ THE BOOKS! Nothing else is really going to contend with it in a heavy hitter way. Possibly “Penguins of Madagascar” for the family audience, but most of the releases will be more Oscar orientated. “Fury”- the Brad Pitt WWII movie, “The Theory of Everything”- the Stephen Hawking biopic, and “Interstellar”- the Matthew McConaughey in space movie, for example. A humble month, it be.

Get your taste buds ready for theater food. This is going to be a packed season.

untitled (3)

Looking for the release dates? Click the link below.

IMDB.com

2 Comments Add yours

  1. pj says:

    I love movies & going to movies. I hope to get see a few of these upcoming flicks. Its a great way to spend time outdoors in the winter.

  2. The Girl in the Tiny Hat says:

    So excited for a lot of these! Can’t wait to sit in a dark theater with that always perfect bag of movie popcorn!

Leave a Reply

