Samantha Shannon – Author Love #3

I haven’t done an Author Love in about a year and a half. I suppose I’m a bit picky.

 Samantha Shannon, author of The Bone Season

Samantha Shannon is the envy of every young writer’s affections. Her first novel, The Bone Season, was published when she was only twenty-one. Choking down my jealousy, I read the sci-fi/fiction Bone Season and loved it. The premise for the book is way more complex than the description I’m about to give, but here it goes:

A futuristic London known as Scion London, or SciLo, has oppressed clairvoyant citizens for over two hundred years. The story follows Paige, a high order voyant who can detach her spirit, as well as second in command of a gang in the underground syndicate of SciLo. After a messy incident in a subway car one evening, Paige is captured and sent away to a secret city where clairvoyants are kept as slaves by an alien race. The same alien race that truly runs Scion. (Dun-dun-dun!)

I truly enjoyed The Bone Season’s story and where I felt she wanted to go with it. A great deal of the writing gave away that it was her first novel, but you have to give someone the benefit of the doubt. It’s like watching the pilot episode to any new series. The second book, The Mime Order, was supposed to release in October, but because of a re-write of the ending it was pushed back to January 2015. That being said, I find myself in possession of an advanced reader’s copy. Thank the seven for exploiting connections!

Without giving too much away, I can tell you that Samantha Shannon took it to a whole new level. She skipped several steps in the growing process and went straight to being an experienced, kick-ass writer. (And if you’ve ever had the pleasure of meeting her, like I have :), you will appreciate how witty and funny she is.) While working Paige back into the world, Shannon manages to paint a vivid picture of Scion and how far their claws are dug into every part of London. How does Paige go back to the life she had when Scion and an alien race are out to annihilate her species? You will have to exploit your connections, or wait until January to find out! I can promise you the only disappointing part is having to wait for the third book.

The Bone Season series is going to be a seven book installment, but Shannon has proved they are worth the wait!

  -> Found this winner. You’re welcome.


2 Comments Add yours

  1. The Girl in the Tiny Hat says:

    I agree with all of this. Already can’t wait for third one. We are in for the long wait now.

  2. pj says:

    Sounds very interest. Glad to see your posting again. Its been awhile. I love your book & author reviews. Gives me a little insight of what I might like to read next. This book is definitely going to be next.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s