Tags

,

Here I am on the seventh floor of one of four buildings that make up my college, bored as hell. My first class let out early, so I have over an hour before the next one starts. As I ventured from one building to the next, pondering over what to do besides eat between classes, I thought it might be fun do a post documenting how each class experience was on the first day. Fun, as well as keep me from dying of boredom.

~This will not become a blog about my adventures in college. I promise. I will still talk about books, writing, and post short stories. The only difference is now they might be good. Haha.~

Class Number One: Intro to Art

I will start by saying I am not an art person! I mean, there are some truly astonishing works of art out there that will bring tears to my eyes. However, this modern art bullshit they show these days makes me want to puke. Unfortunately, Intro to Art is a required course. Unavoidable, as it may be.

My hope was that the class would be informative in other ways, such as who invented what color and how art traveled the world. I can say that I was pleased to hear the class will include those pieces of information, as well as cultural histories of regional art, and actual drawing. I’m no artist, but since you can’t really grade art, I’m hoping my 8 am class is a somewhat easy pass. (And the textbook is insanely cheap! Woot! Woot!)

Class Number Two: English 101

Yep…that’s right. I’ve never finished English 101. I’m embarrassed, and a little ashamed to admit it, but it’s true. As I’ve mentioned before, this is my third attempt at college. The third time is a charm. I swear!

My teacher turned out to be funny and short, just like myself. He provided the materials free of charge, which I can’t argue with, and the class itself is only a handful of people. The one drawback is he grades heavily in participation. I don’t like reading out loud! Please don’t make me!

Class Number Three: World History

This class was…unique. Let us just leave it at that.

~Insert a duel with an extremely unhelpful, and frankly horrible person working in the book shop.~

Class Number Four: Math

Math…my mortal enemy….I know thee not very well, which is why am I still doing you after so many years.

What can I say about math class? I don’t care for math, but I enjoyed the first encounter with the professor. He seems very intelligent and understanding of different styles, or paces of learning. It’s the end of the day. I am barely awake, but make it through the day.

Day One: Complete.

85249

