What Sidney’s Been Working On

I haven’t abandoned my original blog! I promise!

It might seem that way since I’ve started putting up the Bi-Weekly Book Recommendations and a decent amount of Author Loves, but my blog is still primarily for putting my writing work out there for anyone who might be interested. So you might ask, “Then why, Sidney, have you not posted anything you’ve written in such a long time?”

I have an answer, my friends. I have an answer.

After I was 1000% committed to going back to school, with all my classes picked out and paid for, I realized (possibly too late) that I would have no time to somewhat regularly post. That was when I knew I had to take action. Hard action. I spent the entire month of August writing anything I could.

The idea for a bi-weekly book recommendation came to me one afternoon at work. A quick summary of some of my favorite books was easy enough to execute, thought I. That is essentially what I do all the time with my favorite books of the year post, just more concentrated. This led to day after day of combing through my ‘Read’ list on Goodreads. It was like a trip down memory lane…. which resulted in my having to rip these books off my shelf again to remember the details. It was worth it though! I have stored away a good amount of my personal recommendations of books for you lovely folks to read!

Two other projects I’ve been working on are short stories. The two are in totally different genres…. or are they. You will have to read to find out….(dun dun dunnnnnnn)

Last, but most certainly not least, I have finally given in to all the advice everyone has been giving me: I have started writing a serial fiction story to post on the blog. I’ve always felt it is sort of unfair to give away one’s book for free after months or years of working on it. I still feel this way. However, the fact that the likelihood of getting published is so slim to none, I have come to the realization that if I don’t post online, my work may never be read at all.

I am about eight chapters into the serial blog, and I am loving the way it is coming along. I want to be about 15-20 chapters into it before I start posting, mainly so you guys (assuming anyone reads it hahaha) don’t have to wait a super long time for the following chapter. I don’t want to give too much away about the synopsis, so I will just say this…” She began to saw off her hair, leaving an uneven fuzz where the silky locks had once been.”

I hope everyone is as excited as I am!

Notebooks <- I write longhand first. 🙂

4 of 9 pictured.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. pj says:

    I can’t wait to read your new story. As I found your other short stories to be very good & fascinating. You go girl!

    1. Thank you! That is very sweet.

Leave a Reply

