Tags

, , , , ,

simon

“Sometimes it seems like everyone knows who I am except me.”
Becky Albertalli, Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda

Albertalli, who comes from a psychology background as opposed to a literary one, penned a very basic teen novel about a gay kid named Simon living his life in Georgia. As per typical story line, a fellow student finds out his secret, and sets out on a plan to blackmail Simon.

What I can mostly say about this book is that it was thoroughly uninspiring. Not only is Simon an unlikable character, but for an author who works with children dealing with similar issues, she seems to have zero idea of what makes a bad situation bad. Simon is never in a devastating situation, yet his world seems to be crashing in on itself, and the whole blackmail plot line was barely present throughout the book. Essentially, the story was about a selfish teenage who dramatizes everything, even though he kind of has it pretty good.

I might take such a issue with the book because I feel like it gives into stereotypes of young gay men. Yes, I know, stereotypes don’t come out of nowhere, but I feel like as someone who works with children in real situations like Simon’s, Albertalli should’ve kept them more in mind. I also know people don’t always want to read downers about LGBT lives, but at least give your character more personality besides whiny teenager. However, if that’s what she is going for, then by all means she achieved it.

I’m not saying to not buy it. It is not written atrociously, and it reads quickly. All I am say is be warned.

Buy it Here!

